Fresh Salsa


I hate that I need to go to a Mexican restaurant to eat good salsa. It actually kind of drives me a bit nuts. I’ve tried buying a ton of different brands from the grocery store and nothing compares to the fresh stuff. Luckily, our farm share has been providing us with an abundance of tomatoes and I happened to have one dinky jalapeno growing in my garden. Note in the picture above the jalapeno is the same size as a small clove of garlic and those are cherry tomatoes shown next to it! My poor garden really suffered this year because I forgot to water and it hasn’t rained much. Oopsie! Anywho, this salsa is close to what you’ll get in a good Mexican joint, but make sure to taste test (preferably with tortilla chips) and adjust seasoning as you wish.

Fresh Salsa

  • 6-8 fresh tomatoes (I used a combination of plum, beefsteak and cherry tomatoes)
  • 1/2 white or red onion
  • 1 cup cilantro
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 1/4 cup poblano peppers
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste

Rough chop all ingredients and pulse in a food processer until desired consistency is reached. This will make enough to fill a large mason jar.

About Jessica9232

I love design, art, typography and photography, I'm also passionate about cooking and trying out new recipes.

8 responses to “Fresh Salsa

  1. Love love love fresh salsa…..it’s almost constantly stocked in my fridge! I use roughly the same ingredients as you, minus the poblano peppers, I’ll have to give that a try!

  2. I love, love, love fresh salsa too! I do a little squeeze of lime in mine. We also do mango salsa a lot with chipotle. Sweet and spicy is so glorious!
    Salsa makes me happy because it just tastes like summer. :). Just add margarita!

  3. ps- that jalapeño is stinkin’ adorable!

  4. Another gorgeous and delicious dish…

    Thanks for sharing and linking up!

  5. Pingback: Super Easy Super Bowl Recipe Roundup « the kitchen creative

Leave a Reply

Popular Posts

Older Posts

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive new posts by email.

Foodie Blogroll

Foodie Blogroll
