Spicy Sweet Potato and Ham Hash

Spicy Sweet Potato and Ham Hash

This dish is a bright and colorful take on the traditional breakfast staple. Plus, sweet potatoes are loaded with beta-carotene, vitamin A, vitamin E and potassium. Bonus! Tastes great and healthy! I wish I could say that about everything.

Here I used some frozen leftover honey baked ham that I defrosted the night before. I also used frozen poblano peppers from my farm share from over the summer. Sigh. I really miss our weekly bag of fresh veggies. I also miss those long summer days. This whole dark-when-I-go-into-work-dark-when-I-get-home thing is really cramping my style. First world problems. I know, I know. That’s what lack of sunshine will do to you!

Spicy Sweet Potato and Ham Hash

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 2 cups diced ham
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 poblano pepper, chopped
  • 2 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a large bowl, add all ingredients and mix until well combined. Spread mixture onto a large rimmed cookie sheet and bake in oven for 20 minutes, stirring halfway through. Top with an over easy egg or, since I was out of eggs, a sprinkle of feta cheese.

About Jessica9232

I love design, art, typography and photography, I'm also passionate about cooking and trying out new recipes.

Leave a Reply

Popular Posts

Older Posts

Twitter

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive new posts by email.

Foodie Blogroll

Foodie Blogroll
